Me and Hunter

As promised, here is a somewhat condensed version of my life story. I grew up in a military family, so I got to live in lots of different places, including England, Arkansas, Mississippi, and primarily Alaska. I was homeschooled until I started college, which was super fun and allowed me to spend lots of time with my siblings and dogs in our igloo (just kidding, we actually have a house- I've never even seen an igloo in real life).

I went to college at the University of Alaska, where I got my BS in Mathematics with a minor in English in 2015. While I was in college I filled my spare time by doing data entry and statistics at my mom's midwifery clinic and leading the youth group at my church. I also spent part of my summers working at a rural bible camp in Unalakleet, Alaska.

In May 2020 I received my PhD from the University of Kentucky, working on algebraic geometry with Dr. Dave Jensen. My current research focuses on calculating the scrollar invariants of tropical curves, though I'm interested in lots of other fun combinatorial questions as well.

From August 2020 to May 2022, I was a Teaching Postdoc at the Colorado School of Mines, where I got to teach some really neat classes and expand my collection of teaching techniques and practices. I also did some really neat projects with a few undergraduates and learned that undergraduate research is really fun! I hope to keep working on problems at this level.

This summer my wonderful new husband Hunter and I will start permanent jobs at Georgia Tech, and we're excited to move to Atlanta! Though I spend most of my time at school, I also like to spend time with people, play with our giant puppy, cook, play games, hammock, hike, climb rocks, and pretty much anything else outside. Thanks for reading!